Too late for My Hero’s Journey? Nope!

This has been an amazing week!  I attribute much of it to my new and ever growing positive approach and willingness to create a different and not so comfortable path in order to get closer to my Future Self, my Authentic self.  The small things that happen in the moment take on a new meaning to me.  I love it!   I live alone and have for years.  After so many years, you would think I would have been accustomed to it.  Yet, that was not the case.  It actually became worse, and yet, now that I have confronted the demons that want to keep me swaddled in Fear, I welcome my own company.  I enjoy the person I am and who I continue to become.  I’d call that a Hero’s Journey.

Every morning when I get up and continue to switch up my habitual routines of the past that don’t support my DMP, I kinda smile, because the discomfort of not following through on those not-so-good-for-me routines reminds me that I’m becoming my Best Self.  I actually look forward to that discomfort.  Crazy, huh?  Yes, Myself and I have had some rather heated discussions.

I’m loving the transition I am making.  Yes, I’m 60 years old, not 40, not 30, and I’m no longer dwelling on the fact that I didn’t do this 30 years ago.  (Okay, maybe there are moments but I dismiss them quickly.)  I’m rejoicing in the fact that I am doing it now.  One of my great passions is to help others over 50 make that transition as well.  Our society really does a number on this age group; and when you don’t have the tools to reconnect with the knowledge that your Best Self comes entirely from within and not from without, it creates a lifetime of despair for too many of us that have so many gifts to share with others…with the world.

Interestingly, our church Sermon Series for six weeks is dealing with Fear.  They polled 5000 church members and asked them what they considered to be their greatest fears.  Last week the Sermon was about Isolation and Regret–the greatest fear of those over 50.  This week the focus was on the greatest fear of people under 50–the fear of failure . Do you see the irony?  Those that were too afraid to take risks in their earlier life ended up regretting not taking the risks they  once feared.

So take the risks, pull away from your Fear, embrace your discomfort and follow the full circle of your Hero’s Journey.  There’s no better place to be.

 

Leave a Reply

